Back to Top

The NASA knowledge community is a vibrant group of practitioners who actively facilitate knowledge capture, storage, reuse and sharing across the agency. NASA’s knowledge community includes mission directorate, center and organizational Chief Knowledge Officers (CKO), Points of Contact (POC) and Knowledge Services Leads. The community meets face-to-face biannually in accordance with NASA Policy Directive 7120.6 and at the recommendation of the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) in order to share leading practices; deepen understanding of lessons learned and how they impact mission success and failure; learn from industry partners; and work on agencywide problem-solving.

 

 

Office of the Chief Knowledge Officer (OCKO)

In response to the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) recommendation for NASA to establish a single focal point within the agency to develop the policy and requirements necessary to integrate knowledge capture across programs, projects and centers, OCKO leads the effort to develop more consistent knowledge capability across the agency.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge sharing

OCKO Knowledge Services Team
Tiffany Smith | tiffany.l.smith@nasa.gov | 202-358-0178
Ben Bruneau | bbruneau@asrcfederal.com | 301-821-5493
Deana Nunley | dnunley@asrcfederal.com | 727-215-9996
Susan Snyder | sbsnyder@asrcfederal.com | 301-837-3918

Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD)

Specialty: Information architecture, information retrieval, metrics and evaluation

ARMD Knowledge Services Team
Angela Barnes | angela.d.barnes@nasa.gov | 202-358-0282

Ames Research Center (ARC)

Donald Mendoza is the CKO for NASA’s Ames Research Center and chairman of the center’s Lessons Learned committee. Mendoza says it’s critical to capture and organize lessons learned to avoid repeating the same mishaps, failures and missteps.

Specialty: Lessons learned, corporate knowledge management

ARC Knowledge Services Team
Don Mendoza | donald.r.mendoza@nasa.gov | 650-604-2845
Tara Samuels | tara.samuels@nasa.gov | 650-604-5026

Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC)

Mark Davis serves as the Branch Chief of Research Engineering Operations for NASA Armstrong Flight Research Center and is a Research Aerodynamic Engineer specializing in flight test techniques, airdata systems development, and hypersonic research. While performing those duties through the years, Mr. Davis has learned the value of passing on good practices and how that act can save programs time and valuable resources. Being able to interact with others that have worked on similar problems can be invaluable in helping to keep NASA growing its technical strengths.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge sharing.

AFRC Knowledge Services Team
Mark Davis | mark.c.davis@nasa.gov | 661-276-2241

Glenn Research Center (GRC)

Specialty: Mentorship, strategic planning and implementation

GRC Knowledge Services Team
Janice Romanin | janice.m.romanin@nasa.gov | 216-409-2354
Lee Jackson | lee.a.jackson@nasa.gov | 216-416-5714

Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC)

Dr. Moses Adoko is the CKO of the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Prior to his appointment as the Goddard CKO, he served as Deputy Chief Knowledge Officer for the Agency. Dr. Adoko leads and directs programs designed to cultivate and sustain a learning culture that supports mission success. He has implemented strategic processes and tools for lessons learned and critical knowledge identification, sharing, and application. Dr. Adoko provides leadership, coordination and support to center organizations to identify lessons and critical knowledge that can be used to support mission execution.

Specialty: Case studies, pause and learn, reflective learning programs, learning of mission success drivers and Knowledge Sharing Workshops (KSWs)

GSFC Knowledge Services Team
Moses Adoko | moses.adoko-e1@nasa.gov | 301-286-0114
Judy Dickinson | judith.e.dickinson@nasa.gov | 301-286-8217

Human Exploration Operations Mission Directorate (HEOMD)

Zudayyah Taylor-Dunn is the CKO for NASA’s Human Exploration Operations (HEO) Mission Directorate. HEO provides the Agency with leadership and management of NASA space operations related to human exploration in and beyond low-Earth orbit. She fosters collaborative work environments by developing innovative ways to connect people and transfer knowledge within the human exploration and operations programs.

HEOMD Knowledge Services Team
Zudayyah Taylor-Dunn | zudayyah.l.taylor@nasa.gov | 202-358-0679

Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V)

Jeff Northey is the CKO for NASA’s Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V) Program and leads the IV&V Strategic Communications Office. Northey has helped establish a knowledge strategy that includes a simple model for people to actively acquire, share and apply knowledge.

Specialty: Learning organization, knowledge strategy

IV&V Knowledge Services Team
Jeff Northey | jeffrey.r.northey@nasa.gov | 304-367-8250

Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)

Michelle Drabik is the CKO at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). Drabik is excited about the challenge of expanding JPL’s strong knowledge management culture and infrastructure to take it into the next generation, both leveraging what is known and anticipating and building toward what we will need to know in the future.

JPL Knowledge Services Team
Michelle Drabik | michelle.drabik@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-4984
Camille Mathieu | camille.e.mathieu@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-0634
Charles White | charles.p.white@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-2743
David Oberhettinger | david.j.oberhettinger@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-393-0952

Johnson Space Center (JSC)

Jim Rostohar is the CKO at NASA’s Johnson Space Center (JSC). Rostohar says having the right analytical search tools can be a game-changer in terms of technical search capabilities.

Specialty: Data science, search/tag/taxonomy

JSC Knowledge Services Team
Jim Rostohar | james.a.rostohar@nasa.gov | 281-483-7486
Julie Helton | julie.helton@nasa.gov | 281-483-8407
Louis Cancino | luis.f.cancino@nasa.gov | 281-483-8728

Kennedy Space Center (KSC)

Michael Bell is the CKO at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center. Bell leads the cross-agency Lessons Learned Information System and is instrumental to the work of the lessons learned steering committees. He says sharing knowledge helps spur innovation and new thoughts on solving problems.

Specialty: Lessons learned, innovation

KSC Knowledge Services Team
Michael Bell | michael.a.bell@nasa.gov | 321-867-3312
Dawn Martin | dawn.elliott@nasa.gov | 321-867-2269

Langley Research Center (LaRC)

Kevin Rivers is the CKO at NASA’s Langley Research Center where the center mission organizations work in cooperation with IT on projects and initiatives that help with knowledge capture, access, sharing and archiving. The center has been successful with big data mining and deep analytics – mining knowledge for insights, trends and predictions.

Specialty: Big data mining and deep analytics

LaRC Knowledge Services Team
Kevin Rivers | h.kevin.rivers@nasa.gov | 757-864-5428
Bart Singer | bart.a.singer@nasa.gov | 757-864-2154
Lisa Harvey | lisa.m.harvey@nasa.gov | 757-864-2444

Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC)

Larry Leopard, is Marshall Space Flight Center’s Associate Center Director, Technical and Chief Knowledge Officer.

Specialty: Corporate knowledge management

Jennifer Stevens is the Chief Knowledge Integrator at MSFC who sees the preservation of intellectual capital as an organizational imperative and who strives to enable intellection innovation for the rising generations.

Specialty: Innovative knowledge initiatives and strategy

MSFC Knowledge Services Team
Larry Leopard | larry.leopard@nasa.gov | 256-544-3950
Jennifer Stevens | jennifer.s.stevens@nasa.gov | 256-544-5004
Justin Pociask | justin.m.pociask@nasa.gov | 256-603-2575

NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC)

Dan Yuchnovicz is the CKO for the NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC). Yuchnovicz says the biggest challenge facing knowledge managers is getting the right information to the right people at the right time in the development cycle.

Specialty: Lessons learned, technical assessment

NESC Knowledge Services Team
Dan Yuchnovicz | daniel.e.yuchnovicz@nasa.gov | 757-864-7272

NASA Engineering Network (NEN)

Daniel Hoffpauir is the lead Community Facilitator for the NASA Engineering Network (NEN). Daniel believes it’s critical that NASA’s corporate knowledge be accessible to ensure project and mission success.

Specialty: Communities of Practice, Communications, Collaboration

NEN Knowledge Services Team
Daniel Hoffpauir | daniel.l.hoffpauir@nasa.gov | 757-864-2105
Nga Pham | nga.t.pham@nasa.gov | 757-864-9137
Alexandra Walker | alexandra.d.walker@nasa.gov | 757-864-8437

NASA History Division (NHD)

NHD Knowledge Services Team
Sarah LeClaire | sarah.k.leclaire@nasa.gov

NASA Safety Center (NSC)

Mike Lipka is the Knowledge Services Point of Contact (POC) for the NASA Safety Center. Lipka says he thinks the most relevant and interesting knowledge management activity is peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Specialty: Peer-to-peer knowledge sharing, collaboration

NSC Knowledge Services Team
Mike Lipka | michael.j.lipka@nasa.gov | 440-962-3172

Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO)

Mark Weyland is the Knowledge Services Lead for NASA’s Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO). Weyland says it takes effort to keep up with new developments and new knowledge, but the payoff is worth much more than the investment.

Specialty: Integration, risk management

OCHMO Knowledge Services Team
Mark Weyland | mark.d.weyland@nasa.gov | 281-483-6193

Science Mission Directorate (SMD)

Dr. Michael New is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Research (DAA/R) in NASA’s Science Mission Directorate (SMD) and the CKO of SMD. As the DAA/R, Michael is dedicated to improving the efficiency, transparency, and fairness of SMD’s proposal solicitation, evaluation, and selection processes. A key part of this effort is in providing the Program Officers who write solicitations, oversee evaluations, and recommend selections with knowledge of best practices developed in other parts of SMD, NASA, the Academy and the commercial sector.

SMD Knowledge Services Team
Michael New | michael.h.new@nasa.gov | 202-358-1766
Samantha Haurie | samantha.haurie@nasa.gov | 703-489-2600

Scientific and Technical Information (STI)

Corey Portalatin-Berrien is the Data Manager for the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program and serves as the STI Knowledge Services Lead. STI’s mission is to support the advancement of aerospace knowledge and contribute to U.S. competitiveness in aerospace research and development. This program is essential to help NASA avoid duplication of research by sharing information and to ensure that the U.S. maintains its preeminence in aerospace-related industries and education. The NASA STI Program acquires, processes, archives, announces, and disseminates NASA STI and acquires worldwide STI of critical importance to NASA and the Nation.

Specialty: Repository management, discoverability, data management

STI Knowledge Services Team
Corey Portalatin-Berrien | corey.c.portalatin-berrien@nasa.gov | 757-864-2700

Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD)

Alesyn Lowry is the Acting Director of Strategic Planning & Integration for STMD (Space Technology Mission Directorate). With a background in budget, analytics, and performance management, Alesyn believes it is critical to pause, assess, and evaluate in order collect lessons learned and continuously improve through transfer of knowledge.

Specialty: Technology investments

STMD Knowledge Services Team
Alesyn Lowry | alesyn.lowry@nasa.gov | 202-358-0470
Stephanie Booth | stephanie.booth@nasa.gov | 202-358-5268

Stennis Space Center (SSC)

John Stealey serves as the Stennis Space Center (SSC) Engineering and Test Directorate Associate Director and the SSC CKO. Stealey says one of the biggest knowledge management challenges is readily accessing historical technical data online, such as design assumptions and calculations that go with drawings.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge capture and application

SSC Knowledge Services Team
John Stealey | john.e.stealey@nasa.gov | 228-688-2236