Back to Top

The NASA knowledge community is a vibrant group of practitioners who actively facilitate knowledge capture, storage, reuse and sharing across the agency. NASA’s knowledge community includes mission directorate, center and organizational Chief Knowledge Officers (CKO), Points of Contact (POC) and Knowledge Services Leads. The community meets face-to-face biannually in accordance with NASA Policy Directive 7120.6 and at the recommendation of the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) in order to share leading practices; deepen understanding of lessons learned and how they impact mission success and failure; learn from industry partners; and work on agencywide problem-solving.

 

 

Office of the Chief Knowledge Officer (OCKO)

Roger Forsgren is the NASA CKO. In response to the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) recommendation for NASA to establish a single focal point within the agency to develop the policy and requirements necessary to integrate knowledge capture across programs, projects and centers, OCKO leads the effort to develop more consistent knowledge capability across the agency.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge sharing

OCKO Knowledge Services Team
Roger Forsgren | roger.c.forsgren@nasa.gov | 202-358-0859
Moses Adoko | moses.adoko-1@nasa.gov | 301-286-0114
Ben Bruneau | bbruneau@asrcfederal.com | 301-821-5493
Deana Nunley | dnunley@asrcfederal.com | 727-215-9996
Susan Snyder | sbsnyder@asrcfederal.com | 301-837-3918

Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD)

Tiffany Smith is CKO of NASA’s Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD). In this role, Smith coordinates information and processes to support research conducted by NASA’s four aeronautics centers — Ames Research Center, Armstrong Flight Research Center, Glenn Research Center and Langley Research Center — and enable the transformation of aviation to serve future needs, produce demonstrable benefits, and leverage technology advances outside of, as well as within, traditional aviation disciplines.

Specialty: Information architecture, information retrieval, metrics and evaluation

ARMD Knowledge Services Team
Tiffany Smith | tiffany.l.smith@nasa.gov | 202-358-0178

Ames Research Center (ARC)

Donald Mendoza is the CKO for NASA’s Ames Research Center and chairman of the center’s Lessons Learned committee. Mendoza says it’s critical to capture and organize lessons learned to avoid repeating the same mishaps, failures and missteps.

Specialty: Lessons learned, corporate knowledge management

ARC Knowledge Services Team
Don Mendoza | donald.r.mendoza@nasa.gov | 650-604-2845
Tara Samuels | tara.samuels@nasa.gov | 650-604-5026

Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC)

AFRC Knowledge Services Team
Mark Davis | mark.c.davis@nasa.gov | 661-276-2241

Glenn Research Center (GRC)

Marton Forkosh serves as the CKO at NASA’s Glenn Research Center (GRC). Forkosh says Glenn has benefited from the insight of local knowledge management leaders from industry and academia who have helped identify gaps in knowledge sharing efforts.

Specialty: Mentorship, strategic planning and implementation

GRC Knowledge Services Team
Marton Forkosh | marton.forkosh-1@nasa.gov | 216-433-8791
Lee Jackson | lee.a.jackson@nasa.gov | 216-416-5714

Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC)

Edward Rogers serves as the CKO at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC). Rogers says people love to learn, and the key is to make it easy and interesting by sharing stories that provide context and consequence.

Specialty: Case studies, pause and learn

GSFC Knowledge Services Team
Edward Rogers | ed.rogers@nasa.gov | 301-286-4467
Judy Dickinson | judith.e.dickinson@nasa.gov | 301-286-8217

Human Exploration Operations Mission Directorate (HEOMD)

Zudayyah Taylor-Dunn is the CKO for NASA’s Human Exploration Operations (HEO) Mission Directorate. HEO provides the Agency with leadership and management of NASA space operations related to human exploration in and beyond low-Earth orbit. She fosters collaborative work environments by developing innovative ways to connect people and transfer knowledge within the human exploration and operations programs.

HEOMD Knowledge Services Team
Zudayyah Taylor-Dunn | zudayyah.l.taylor@nasa.gov | 202-358-0679

Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V)

Jeff Northey is the CKO for NASA’s Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V) Program and leads the IV&V Strategic Communications Office. Northey has helped establish a knowledge strategy that includes a simple model for people to actively acquire, share and apply knowledge.

Specialty: Learning organization, knowledge strategy

IV&V Knowledge Services Team
Jeff Northey | jeffrey.r.northey@nasa.gov | 304-367-8250

Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)

Michelle Drabik is the CKO at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). Drabik is excited about the challenge of expanding JPL’s strong knowledge management culture and infrastructure to take it into the next generation, both leveraging what is known and anticipating and building toward what we will need to know in the future.

JPL Knowledge Services Team
Michelle Drabik | michelle.drabik@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-4984
Camille Mathieu | camille.e.mathieu@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-0634
Charles White | charles.p.white@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-2743
David Oberhettinger | david.j.oberhettinger@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-393-0952

Johnson Space Center (JSC)

Jim Rostohar is the CKO at NASA’s Johnson Space Center (JSC). Rostohar says having the right analytical search tools can be a game-changer in terms of technical search capabilities.

Specialty: Data science, search/tag/taxonomy

JSC Knowledge Services Team
Jim Rostohar | james.a.rostohar@nasa.gov | 281-483-7486
Julie Helton | julie.helton@nasa.gov | 281-483-8407

Kennedy Space Center (KSC)

Michael Bell is the CKO at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center. Bell leads the cross-agency Lessons Learned Information System and is instrumental to the work of the lessons learned steering committees. He says sharing knowledge helps spur innovation and new thoughts on solving problems.

Specialty: Lessons learned, innovation

KSC Knowledge Services Team
Michael Bell | michael.a.bell@nasa.gov | 321-867-3312
Dawn Martin | dawn.elliott@nasa.gov | 321-867-2269

Langley Research Center (LaRC)

Jill Marlowe is the CKO at NASA’s Langley Research Center where the center mission organizations work in cooperation with IT on projects and initiatives that help with knowledge capture, access, sharing and archiving. The center has been successful with big data mining and deep analytics – mining knowledge for insights, trends and predictions.

LaRC Knowledge Services Team
Jill Marlowe | jill.marlowe@nasa.gov | 757-864-4111
Bart Singer | bart.a.singer@nasa.gov | 757-864-2154
Lisa Harvey | lisa.m.harvey@nasa.gov | 757-864-2444

Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC)

MSFC Knowledge Services Team
Preston Jones | carl.p.jones@nasa.gov | 256-544-5716
Jennifer Stevens | jennifer.s.stevens@nasa.gov | 256-544-5004

NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC)

Dan Yuchnovicz is the CKO for the NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC). Yuchnovicz says the biggest challenge facing knowledge managers is getting the right information to the right people at the right time in the development cycle.

Specialty: Lessons learned, technical assessment

NESC Knowledge Services Team
Dan Yuchnovicz | daniel.e.yuchnovicz@nasa.gov | 757-864-7272

NASA Engineering Network (NEN)

Daniel Hoffpauir is the lead Community Facilitator for the NASA Engineering Network (NEN). Daniel believes it’s critical that NASA’s corporate knowledge be accessible to ensure project and mission success.

Specialty: Communities of Practice, Communications, Collaboration

NEN Knowledge Services Team
Daniel Hoffpauir | daniel.l.hoffpauir@nasa.gov | 757-864-2105
Nga Pham | nga.t.pham@nasa.gov | 757-864-9137
Alexandra Walker | alexandra.d.walker@nasa.gov | 757-864-8437

NASA History Division (NHD)

Stephen Garber is a Historian in the NASA History Division (NHD) and serves as the Knowledge Services Lead. Garber says history and the knowledge it imparts is important for everybody.

Specialty: History, knowledge sharing

NHD Knowledge Services Team
Stephen Garber | stephen.j.garber@nasa.gov | 202-358-0385

NASA Safety Center (NSC)

Mike Lipka is the Knowledge Services Point of Contact (POC) for the NASA Safety Center. Lipka says he thinks the most relevant and interesting knowledge management activity is peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Specialty: Peer-to-peer knowledge sharing, collaboration

NSC Knowledge Services Team
Mike Lipka | michael.j.lipka@nasa.gov | 440-962-3172

Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO)

Mark Weyland is the Knowledge Services Lead for NASA’s Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO). Weyland says it takes effort to keep up with new developments and new knowledge, but the payoff is worth much more than the investment.

Specialty: Integration, risk management

OCHMO Knowledge Services Team
Mark Weyland | mark.d.weyland@nasa.gov | 281-483-6193

Science Mission Directorate (SMD)

Dr. Michael New is the Deputy Associate Administrator for Research (DAA/R) in NASA’s Science Mission Directorate (SMD) and the CKO of SMD. As the DAA/R, Michael is dedicated to improving the efficiency, transparency, and fairness of SMD’s proposal solicitation, evaluation, and selection processes. A key part of this effort is in providing the Program Officers who write solicitations, oversee evaluations, and recommend selections with knowledge of best practices developed in other parts of SMD, NASA, the Academy and the commercial sector.

SMD Knowledge Services Team
Michael New | michael.h.new@nasa.gov | 202-358-1766
Samantha Haurie | samantha.haurie@nasa.gov | 703-489-2600

Scientific and Technical Information (STI)

Corey Portalatin-Berrien is the Data Manager for the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program and serves as the STI Knowledge Services Lead. STI’s mission is to support the advancement of aerospace knowledge and contribute to U.S. competitiveness in aerospace research and development. This program is essential to help NASA avoid duplication of research by sharing information and to ensure that the U.S. maintains its preeminence in aerospace-related industries and education. The NASA STI Program acquires, processes, archives, announces, and disseminates NASA STI and acquires worldwide STI of critical importance to NASA and the Nation.

Specialty: Repository management, discoverability, data management

STI Knowledge Services Team
Corey Portalatin-Berrien | corey.c.portalatin-berrien@nasa.gov | 757-864-2700

Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD)

Patrick Murphy is the Director of Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD) Strategic Planning and Integration and serves as the STMD Chief Knowledge Officer.

Specialty: Information visualization, technology development

STMD Knowledge Services Team
Patrick Murphy | patrick.murphy@nasa.gov | 202-358-1114
Stephanie Booth | stephanie.booth@nasa.gov | 202-358-5268

Stennis Space Center (SSC)

John Stealey serves as the Stennis Space Center (SSC) Engineering and Test Directorate Associate Director and the SSC CKO. Stealey says one of the biggest knowledge management challenges is readily accessing historical technical data online, such as design assumptions and calculations that go with drawings.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge capture and application

SSC Knowledge Services Team
John Stealey | john.e.stealey@nasa.gov | 228-688-2236