NASA FAC-P/PM Certification Program

NASA FAC-P/PM Certification Program

In a memorandum dated April 25, 2007, the White House Office of Management and Budget (OMB) announced a new set of mandatory requirements for program/project manager certification that applies to all civilian agencies. The Federal Acquisition Institute (FAI) then led an interagency working group to develop common, essential competencies for the program and project management community. The resulting Federal Acquisition Certification for Program/Project Managers (FAC-P/PM) outlines the baseline competencies, training, and experience required for program and project managers in the federal government.

In response to this OMB policy, NASA developed a program to certify Program/Project Managers (P/PMs) who are currently managing projects with lifecycle costs greater than $250 million as defined in NPR 7120.5.

Eligibility

Candidates for this certification at NASA are determined by their respective centers according to the types of projects that an individual is overseeing. Individuals overseeing projects that are deemed by their center as high visibility, or over $250 million are put forward to their respective FAC-P/PM Center Review Boards for certification consideration. (NASA only grants FAC-P/PM senior level certifications).

NASA FAC-P/PM Certification Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the role of NASA's Academy of Program/Project & Engineering Leadership (APPEL)?
The FAC-P/PM program is a center-specific program. APPEL administers the program for the agency, and works closely with each center point of contact (POC) to assist them in the recruitment, maintenance and recertification of program participants.
Who is currently considered for NASA FAC-P/PM certification?
The criterion to be certified is determined by the nature of the position an individual holds within the agency: a candidate needs to hold a position whose responsibilities are to manage a major acquisition program or project of $250 million or more, or meet the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-11 criteria for IT. FAC-P/PM certification is not based on tenure or learning experience – although those factors do come into consideration should a person’s position be identified and reviewed for certification.
I held FAC-P/PM for another agency, does it transfer to NASA?
Not at this time. The FAC-P/PM designation from other agencies is not transferable to NASA.
What is the term of certification?
The credential term is two years. To maintain the credential, a FAC-P/PM program participant must accrue 80 Continuous Learning Points (CLPs) and report them, typically through SATERN, to the agency within their two year period.
What if I’m in the NASA Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)?
OCIO has a set of standards that are somewhat different as IT projects do not typically meet the $250 million threshold. OCIO specific FAC-P/PM certifications would again be determined based on the project(s) that are being managed, and the determined need for the PM to be certified. (Generally, IT program managers assigned to programs considered major acquisitions as defined by Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-11 meets the criteria for FAC-P/PM senior level certification.)

 

NASA Center FAC-P/PM Certification Contacts

Each NASA center has a designated FAC-P/PM contact who can answer any questions you may have. Whether you are currently an active program member, have questions about how the program is run at your center, or wish to know more about program eligibility please contact your designated FAC-P/PM center contact.

Org. POC Name E-mail Address Primary/Alternate
AFRC Deirdra Bullock Deirdra.Bullock-1@nasa.gov Primary
ARC Claire Smith
claire.smith-1@nasa.gov Primary
ARC Sarah Guillaudeu sarah.s.guillaudeu@nasa.gov Alternate
GRC Kathy Clark kathy.m.clark@nasa.gov Primary
GRC Bryan Smith Bryan.K.Smith@nasa.gov Alternate
GSFC Cecilia Czarnecki cecilia.a.czarnecki@nasa.gov Primary
GSFC Laura Milam-Hannin laura.j.milam-hannin@nasa.gov Alternate
JPL Deb Durham deborah.a.durham@jpl.nasa.gov Primary
JPL Paul Gowler paul.p.gowler@jpl.nasa.gov Alternate
JSC Kayce McDaniel kayce.m.mcdaniel@nasa.gov Primary
JSC Zeeaa Quadri zeeaa.quadri-1@nasa.gov Alternate
KSC Maria Revlett maria.revlett@nasa.gov Primary
KSC Sandeep Wilkhu sandeep.s.wilkhu@nasa.gov Alternate
LaRC Travis Millner travis.l.millner@nasa.gov Primary
MSFC Renea Scoble renea.scoble@nasa.gov Primary
MSFC Renee Cox renee.cox@nasa.gov Alternate
SSC Anita Douglas Anita.Douglas@ssc.nasa.gov Primary
OCIO Jena Hughey jena.hughey@nasa.gov Primary
OCIO Stephanie Stilson stephanie.s.stilson@nasa.gov Alternate
HQ Yolande Harden yharden@nasa.gov Acquisition Career Manager

Back to Top